Pieter Abbeel

Pieter Abbeel received a BS/MS in Electrical Engineering from KU Leuven (Belgium) and received his Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from Stanford University in 2008. He joined the faculty at UC Berkeley in Fall 2008, with an appointment in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences. His research focuses on robotics, machine learning and control.

Professor Alice Agogino

Alice M. Agogino is the Roscoe and Elizabeth Hughes Professor of Mechanical Engineering and affiliated faculty at the Haas School of Business in their Operations and Information Technology Management Group. She directs the BEST Lab: Berkeley Energy and Sustainable Technologies | Berkeley Expert Systems Technology | Berkeley Emergent Space Tensegrities. She currently serves as Chair of the Development Engineering Graduate Group and Education Director of the Blum Center for Emerging Economies.

Professor Venkatesh Akella

The goal of Prof. Akella’s research is to create models, platforms (architectures) and design methodologies to support high performance and low power computing requirements applications such as networking, location aware services, multimedia, compression, error correction, scientific computation and computational biology. The central premise of the research is that reducing cost and maximizing flexibility are absolutely critical for making computing systems accessible to a broader audience and in turn to have the maximum impact on our society.

Ram Akella

Professor Ram Akella is currently Professor and Director of the Center for Large-scale Live Analytics and Smart Services (CLASS), which includes SMART (Social Media Analytics Research Transformation), and the Center for Knowledge, Information Systems and Technology Management (KISMT) at the University of California at Silicon Valley Center/Santa Cruz.

Professor George Akerlof

Professor Akerlof is a 2001 recipient of the Alfred E. Nobel Prize in Economic Science; he was honored for his theory of asymmetric information and its effect on economic behavior. He is also the 2006 President of the American Economic Association. He served earlier as vice president and member of the executive committee. He is also on the North American Council of the Econometric Association.

Timothy Albertson

Dr. Albertson is a leading expert in clinical pharmacology and toxicology, aeromedicine, and septic and adult respiratory distress syndrome. In addition to his role at UC Davis, he is a flight surgeon and chief of pulmonary and critical care medicine for the Veteran’s Administration Northern California Health Care System.

Richard Allen

Richard Allen is the Director of the Berkeley Seismological Laboratory, and Professor and Chair of the Dept. of Earth and Planetary Science at UC Berkeley. He is an expert in earthquake alerting systems, developing methodologies to detect earthquakes and issue warnings prior to shaking. His group uses seismic and GPS sensing networks, and is experimenting with the use of smartphones.

Nina Amenta

Amenta is a professor and chair of Computer Science at UC Davis and is part of the Visualization and Graphics Research Group. She works in computational geometry, using discrete geometry to develop algorithms for problems in areas like computer graphics and simulation. Her recent research has focused on the construction of good models of 3D objects from clouds of points, improvements in the construction of basic geometric structures, and visualization for computational biology. She is the recipient of an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellowship and an NSF CAREER award.

Professor Rajeevan Amirtharajah

Prof. Amirtharajah’s research activities focus on the development and implementation of electronic systems which are powered by energy harvested from their environment. This includes the conversion of incident light (solar energy harvesting) and environmental mechanical vibrations into electrical form, power electronics to generate stable supply voltages, and load circuits which consume less than one milliwatt.

Professor Venkat Anantharam

He received his B.Tech in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, 1980, a M.S. in EE from UC Berkeley, 1982, a M.A. in Mathematics, UC Berkeley, 1983, a C.Phil in Mathematics, UC Berkeley, 1984 and a Ph.D. in EE, UC Berkeley, 1986. Prior to joining the faculty of EECS in 1994, he was a member of the faculty at Cornell University.