Jay Han has been named CITRIS Medical Director

Jay J. Han, MD, has been named as the Medical Director of the Center for Information Technology Research in the Interest of Society (CITRIS).  In that role, he will help guide the CITRIS Health Care Initiative and enhance collaboration between UC Davis Health System clinicians and researchers from the CITRIS campuses. 

Dr. Han is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the University of California Davis School of Medicine.  He is the Associate Director of the NIDRR-funded UC Davis Rehabilitation Research Training Center (RRTC) in Neuromuscular Diseases, and the Director of the Neuromuscular Medicine Fellowship, one of only a few in the country.  Dr. Han has clinical interests in neuromuscular diseases affecting both adult and pediatric populations.   His research interests focus on the development of functional outcome measures in patients with neuromuscular disorders, and he actively collaborates with researchers at UC Berkeley and UC Merced on innovative technologies to support rehabilitation in novel ways.

“Dr. Jay Han is an outstanding clinician, and an enthusiastic leader of the multi-campus, multidisciplinary research that is at the heart of CITRIS.  He will be following our very successful first medical director, Dr. Javeed Siddiqui in this role, and will be an excellent addition to our health care ‘brain trust’ of Dr. Tom Nesbitt, Professor Edmund Seto, and Mr. Steve DeMello,” commented Professor Paul K. Wright, CITRIS Director.

Dr. Han graduated from Stanford University and received his MD from UCSF, and completed his internship, residency and fellowships (in neuromuscular medicine and translational research) at the University of Washington and at UC Davis.    He is a fellow of the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and the American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine.  Dr Han is the author of numerous publications and a recipient of the Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award, from the UC Davis Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.