J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves

J.J.  Garcia-Luna-Aceves is the Director of CITRIS and the Banatao Institute UC Santa Cruz. He received the B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from the Universidad Iberoamericana, Mexico City, Mexico in 1977; and the M.S. and Ph.D.  degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu, HI in 1980 and 1983, respectively.

He is a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC),  holds the Jack Baskin Endowed Chair of Computer Engineering, and is a Principal Scientist at the Palo Alto Research Center (PARC). Prior to joining UCSC in 1993  he was a Center Director at SRI International (SRI) in Menlo Park, California.  He has been a Visiting Professor at Sun Laboratories in Menlo Park, California,  and a Principal of Protocol Design at Nokia in Mountain View, California.

Dr. Garcia-Luna-Aceves was elected a Corresponding Member of the Mexican Academy of Sciences in 2013; and is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

He received the 2016 IEEE MILCOM Technical Achievement Award for sustained contributions to military communications. He received the IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award  in 2011 “for pioneering contributions to the theory and design of communication protocols for ad-hoc wireless networks.”  He received the IEEE Communications Society Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks Technical Committee (AHSN TC) Technical Recognition Award in 2012 “for fundamental contributions to the theory and design of communication protocols for routing and channel access in ad-hoc wireless networks.”

He is the co-recipient of the IEEE Fred W. Ellersick 2008 MILCOM Award for best unclassified paper.  He is also co-recipient of Best Paper Awards at the European Wireless Conference 2010, IEEE MASS 2008, SPECTS 2007, IFIP Networking 2007, and IEEE MASS 2005 conferences, and of the Best Student Paper Award of the 1998 IEEE International Conference on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics. He received the SRI International Exceptional-Achievement Award in 1985 and 1989.

Dr. Garcia-Luna-Aceves holds 56 U.S. patents and has published more than 500  papers in journals, conferences, and books.  He has directed more than 40 Ph.D. theses and more than 30 M.S. theses since he joined UCSC in 1993.  He has served as the Chair of the ACM Special Interest Group on  Multimedia and as General Chair of numerous conferences, including  IEEE ICNC 2016, ACM MSWIM 2015, ACM MobiCom 2008,  IEEE SECON 2005, ACM Multimedia ’93, and ACM SIGCOMM ’88. He has also served as Program Chair of  ACM MobiHoc 2002,  ACM MobiCom 2000,  IEEE MULTIMEDIA ’92, ACM SIGCOMM ’87, and ACM SIGCOMM ’86. He has served in the IEEE Internet Technology Award Committee, the IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal Committee, and the National Research Council Panel on Digitization and Communications Science of the Army Research Laboratory Technical Assessment Board.

Dr. Garcia-Luna-Aceves also directs the Computer Communication Research Group (CCRG) at UC Santa Cruz.