The CITRIS Athena Awards recognize women who embody, encourage, and promote the inclusion of women in technology and computer science. Awardees will be leaders who inspire others to pursue and persevere in technical careers by way of their outstanding contributions, and by service and mentorship toward promoting education and inclusion in the field. Nominations for individuals and organizations outside the US are welcome.

Awards will be made in four categories, described below:


The Executive Leadership Awards recognize individuals who demonstrate executive leadership or outstanding technical accomplishment, and support the professional development and promotion of women in their companies, organizations or the field at large.

Learn More


The Academic Leadership Awards recognize senior leaders in academia or national labs who have a demonstrated record of accomplishment as well as encouraged or mentored young scholars.

Learn More


The Early Career Awards recognize promising young leaders in industry, academia, or the public sector.

Learn More

CITRIS Next Generation Engagement Award:

Nominees may be organizations or programs that encourage girls or young women to pursue interests in technology and computer science.

Learn More

Awards will include travel support to attend the Women in Technology symposium, October 5, 2016, at UC Berkeley, where awards and cash prizes totaling $10,000 will be presented.


July 1: Nominations open
Aug. 1, 5 p.m. PST: Deadline to submit nominations
Sept. 2: Notifications sent to awardees and nominators
Oct. 5, 2016: Women in Tech event at CITRIS


Registration for the Women in Technology symposium on October 5, 2016 is available now at

Register to Attend Women in Technology

Presented by CITRIS and the Banatao Institute and the Center for Long-Term Cybersecurity, and other partners from industry and academia.